stuff! things! etc!
i once gave a kangeroo a heart attack by staring at it.

Twenty minutes and a nauseating piece of chocolate cake later...

2004-08-18
Today is my last day at work. Since the day I moved out of the dorms (quite literally, the next day) in May (13th) until today, August 18th, I have been busting my ass here. I have learned every program, every payroll proceedure, every one of Dan's little nuances. And really, I have liked it. I say I hate my job but I really hated the commute and the early-ness. These people have alway been nice to me, the workload has never been too intense, and I've been getting a pretty good paycheck.

I finished training my replacement today (who is nice, though a loud talker), and my coworkers threw me a little going away party (flowers, balloons, cake, etc). I'm so not good at those things, but by the time we all sat down to eat (including my boss the android) I had finally managed to get over my weird conversation phobias and talk and cut my cake like a normal human being.

And then the phone started ringing again, and it was back to it being 3:30 and time to get back to work. I am living in this little bubble. Though I have no large plans for projects to undertake, these are my last moments here and I'd like them to be productive. However, I spent most of my summer pretty unproductive so I might as well go with the flow.

But it still feels weird. I will be riding that elevator for the last time; I will be dropping the mail off for the last time; I will be making that commute for the last time. The summer isn't quite over but I miss it already.

For those concerned (read = none) about Emily's date last night, she got in fine. We gossiped about it all day, and let's just say that Creepy McCreeperson is no Monet. Or Manet, really, for that matter. However, she leaves for school tomorrow, and I just wanted to say that I'm going to miss you a whole lot, Smemy. You are one of my bestest friends and this summer (unlike you) would've sucked a lot of dick had you not been here.

Tonight I leave on Kipp and Paul's Cross Country Magical Adventure. The goal is to make it to Ohio tonight; also, not kill each other. These are lofty goals, but ones I hope to achieve. I have yet to work on a scheme for uploading pictures, but have no fear I will be thoroughly documenting every bed I sleep in, every meal I eat, and every weird person I run into.

Be cool my babies. I'm trying my bestest not to cry.

3:46 p.m. ::
prev :: next