stuff! things! etc!
i once gave a kangeroo a heart attack by staring at it.

Go Go Financial Hardship Rangers!

2006-04-23
Now that I've got this short haircut, it has come to my attention that nearly all of my favourite earrings are going to be hanging about an inch below my actual hairline. This is something that I hadn't thought about before but now am somewhat perplexed by. My hair is GONE in a surgery that was completely unauthorized. Never to come back! Never to come back within 6 to 12 months! Possibly less now that I'm taking these Biotin suppliments and that is supposed to help speed hair growth! Seriously!

While Jamie thought she knew what she was doing, I'm still not so sure. The biggest appeal of the short hair--potentially less weight and therefore less tug on the scalp and therefore less loss--has yet to be confirmed, and is somewhat on its way to being disproven. I was diagnosed a few weeks ago with anemia, a condition that sounds far more interesting than it is and is easily remedied by eating more red meat (check) and taking iron pills twice a day.

Sidebar: iron is damn expensive. A 45 day supply of it cost me nearly $35, and I've shopped around between several pharmacies both online and irl. What's up with that? Don't we make buildings and shit out of iron? How costly can it really be to process it in pill form? Seriously, this is the year 2006. I demand my iron at cost. I blame this on tarrifs and believe me I'll be writing to my Congressman.

Either way, the anemia has caused a variety of obnoxious side effects (like people saying, "I guess you can't give blood!" STFU); the biggest one being an increase in hair loss. I'm not sure the "science" behind it, but apparently it has made my follicules very weak and subject to even the most minute ammount of pressure. This means showers, flipping my hair around while blow drying, sleeping; all those things that you take for granted cause me to shed like it's going out of style. And believe me, shedding and constantly picking hairs off your clothes was never really in style.

Either way, I was hoping the shorter hair would have the advantage of a less overall tug and therefore be less inclined to fall out. While blowdrying and showering this morning I noticed the same amount of accumulated loss as before I got everything nipped and tucked. Motherfucker. I guess I'll just have to rely on my dermatologist, a short, balding woman who insisted that I would see results within six months. Six months! I'll be 21 by then! Christ.

In the mean time, I'm biding my time by losing stuff, not exercising, and living in a place kept as messy as humanly possible. I've really reached a new low. I think today and tomorrow are going to cause me to seriously purge my closet of all the stuff I've been keeping but haev now "outgrown"; ie, gotten smaller and now stuff fits weird. I'm dedicating myself to the cause of simplicity and happiness. This is a difficult cause to dedicate oneself to since my room is particularly messy and jammed full of exercise equipment and cheap furniture and I think my roommate is silently plotting against me. While better than my old roommate openly plotting against me, I'm not sure how to take it. I just want Mormon to move in with me so that we can go back to our freshman year dorm status of married bliss.

In the mean time I have an impressive list of things to check off my list of things to do. Exchange 2 day old sandals at Hot Topic that broke after second wearing (hopefully). Get my finances in order and get ready to pay the bills for this month. Pass off amount of bills to roommate. Do schoolwork (something that has been way too low on my list for way too long). Get lip pierced? Maybe. Accept delivery of really cool new pants? Yes. Accept the fact that with the combination of high gas prices and relatively high ticket prices They Might Be Giants this weekend is a no-go? Sadly, yes.

12:40 p.m. ::
prev :: next