stuff! things! etc!
i once gave a kangeroo a heart attack by staring at it.

A NEW LIFE IS JUST OFF STARBOARD!

2004-12-13
This about the time of day when normal people get up. I hadn't noticed that at this very normal time the sun is still not out. This is very nice because I have yet to snuggle into my bed (currently sheetless), and if I decide to do so (woke up at 6pm today, and I'm considering staying up straight through to get myself back onto a normal schedule) attempting to go to bed while the sun is coming up is dreadful. The worst. It's so depressing. Almost as depressing as waking up when the sun has already set! (see above) But I digress.

I just came from the best, most relaxing shower ever. My hair is ridiculously dry--it is dry regularly, but the dye I used must have been abrasive. I've been trying to baby it by using expensive moisturizing treatments and shampoos, washing it gently, not blowdrying it or brushing it abrasively. To its credit is beautiful and thick and wonderful when it is dry. But up until being dry, it is a hassle and a half. Getting a brush through it is an absolute no-no. I'm not sure how to address this dryness issue. Hopefully the dye will fade, I think my last black job this summer lasted on two months-ish. But up until then, I considered a 'radical' idea:

What if I treated my hair with vaseline?

I know this idea sounds foul and weird. It sounds foul and weird to me. But vaseline has always been the best treatment for chapped lips to make them beautiful, soft and shiny, and for dry winter elbows. I wonder how it would fair on my hair. Maybe just treating some on the ends for 15-20 minutes a few days a week could really make a difference.

(After Googling 'vaseline on hair' I have figured out how to get it OUT of my hair, need to use cornstarch, and that it is an effective treatment to remove lice from eyelashes, but whether this would be a good moisturizing idea or not is yet to be determined)

Here is a definete shower tip that I do know that works:

If the Mormon taught me anything, it is this amazing trick. Every girl has that one shampoo or body wash she wants to smell like when she gets out of the shower, but they never stay. Those things are silly like that. What Liz taught me is that once you're all done washing, turn the water off, and apply a very little bit of whatever this is (I usually use body washes) all over and just hang around for a few minutes. Then get out and dry yourself off normally. This is fun because you get all slick and slippery, but your skin stays much smoother and softer and the scent ('smell' is so abrasive) stays with you for much longer. This is genius. Try this. And if subsequent disasters ensue, don't sue me, please.

I should probably sleep, and shake the sheets. I've just been so lonely lately. Is anyone out there attracted to strong, confident, aggressive, and motivated women? I've tried this mouse-y "I can cook and I can clean and I can sew and I can knit and please let me bring you your slippers" thing, traditional is supposed to be coming back in style anyway, but that does not seem to be working out very well.

6:34 a.m. ::
prev :: next