stuff! things! etc!
i once gave a kangeroo a heart attack by staring at it.

-

2004-09-26
My mother was recently turned down for a promotion at work that she really deserved; and her organization chose instead to fill the position with a woman who not only hates my mother, but has no real experience (there was much more drama, but I will keep it at a minimum).

Needless to say, it was a heart breaking week at my house. My mother was extremely upset, as were the rest of us. She is the most genuine, wonderful, smart, honest, and caring person I know; she is so smart and doesn't even realize it.

She's upset about what to do now, and firmly believes that she can no longer stay in an organization that would make such a disgusting choice.

To make her feel better, I bought her a copy of Nice Girls Don't Get the Corner Office: 101 Unconscious Mistakes Women Make That Sabotage Their Careers, because my mother really is too nice. I saw this in Borders a few weeks ago and considered buying it for myself but wanted to check out reviews first (they are almost unanimously favourable).

Then, to cheer her up, I bought her a Vera Bradley tote (in the colour pictured there). Anyone who is anyone knows that Vera Bradley stuff is very hot right now, and while I personally think they're over-rated and somewhat campy looking (not to mention the fact they're way expensive!), they seem like a good mother gift.

In related news, I have a bug bite on my hip, and my dull scratching has done something bizarre--it looks like it has pooled blood in many places at the surface of my skin. I'm dazed and confused to say the least.

11:07 a.m. ::
prev :: next