stuff! things! etc!
i once gave a kangeroo a heart attack by staring at it.

What do you mean by, "we don't have Wawa here?"

2004-08-21
Kipp is learning a very important lesson. It is not about lying, being humble, or being compassionate. Those lessons are frankly stupid, who cares? Name someone who got anywhere in life being honesty, humble and compassionate. Mother Theresa and she had two dresses and one pair of sandals. She did not even use deodorant. That is not what I would consider a �role model;� at least not a role model for our dear Kipp.

No, Kipp is learning the lesson of geography. This is the basis of the lesson: if the state does not touch salt water, do not go there. The mid west is a miserable place to be if you are used to the restless excitement of Philadelphia, New York, and the Federal Capital. I have lived in many places in America and going back to Wisconsin would take an act of God in direct proportion to Jonah � being spit up by a giant fish onto the beach. I delayed professionally placement for two years until something opened up in New England.

Someone once said to me, �I don�t see how you can live in a place with a Starbucks on every corner, a Target every five miles, and Walgreens across the street from CVS.� I do not see how people live without that. They said, �I could not raise a child in a city.� How do you raise a child OUTSIDE of a population center? What do you do when the child is sick in the middle of the night? Call the veterinarian.

I went to college in a town with no Starbucks, where the nicest restaurant was McDonald�s, Wal Mart closed at nine o�clock, there was no Target or Barnes & Noble. On Long Island and in Connecticut we call living like that, �camping.� Sure, sure�Mark Twain did immortalize that way of life but he also choose to live in Connecticut as soon as he got the chance.

I may live in a ghetto, but I would rather live in the worst neighborhood in my city (and I do) than live in the finest home in Omaha, Helena, or Butte (Idaho? No, Udaho).

I hope Kipp survives her trek west, because what does not kill you delays the inevitable. Depending on how the next couple of days go I am not sure if she will fly back or run back screaming. Running takes effort; she�ll take the plane.

Check Buzz Net for real time, Kipp Coverage of her rocking the voyage west

1:10 p.m. ::
prev :: next